NCAA East Preliminary Round Set for May 24-26
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
NCAA East Preliminary Round Set for May 24-26

NCAA EAST PRELIMINARY ROUND
Thursday, May 24 – Saturday, May 26
Tampa, Fla. | USF Track and Field Stadium

MEET INFORMATION  |  START LIST  |  LIVE RESULTS  |  LIVE VIDEO

STARTING LINE: Four members of the Tennessee State track and field teams will compete at the NCAA East Preliminary Round on May 24-26 at the USF Track and Field Stadium in Tampa, Fla. Cyra Beard (High Jump), Mikayla Thompson (Shot Put), Isaiah Olige (400m Hurdles) and R’Lazon Brumfield (Triple Jump) all finished in the top 48 in the NCAA’s East Region in order to qualify.

TSU ENTRIES
ATHLETE – EVENT – TIME/MARK - REGIONAL SEED

Cyra Beard – High Jump – 1.75m (5’8.75”) – 34th
Mikayla Thompson – Shot Put – 15.54m (51’0”) – 36th
Isaiah Olige – 400m Hurdles – 51.68 - 27th
R’Lazon Brumfield – Triple Jump – 15.50m (50’10.25”) – 31st

SCHEDULE
Thursday, May 24

- Men’s 400m Hurdles (Isaiah Olige): 12:30 p.m. ET (11:30 a.m. CT) – FIRST ROUND
- Women’s High Jump (Cyra Beard): 2 p.m. ET (1 p.m. CT)
- Women’s Shot Put (Mikayla Thompson): 5:30 p.m. ET (4:30 p.m. CT)

Friday, May 25
- Men’s 400m Hurdles (Isaiah Olige): 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT) - QUARTERFINALS

Saturday, May 26
- Men’s Triple Jump (R’Lazon Brumfield): 3:30 p.m. ET (2:30 p.m. CT)

MOVING ON: The top 12 finishers in each event at the NCAA Preliminary Rounds will earn a spot at the NCAA Outdoor Championships in Eugene, Ore., which are scheduled for June 6-9. The Preliminary Round is broken up into East (Tampa, Fla.) and West (Sacramento, Calif.) regions.

HOW THEY GOT HERE
- Cyra Beard cleared the high jump bar at 1.75m (5’8.75”) at the Alan Connie Shamrock Invitational in March.
- Mikayla Thompson’s best shot put distance of the season of 15.54m (51’0”) came at the OVC Outdoor Championship.
- Isaiah Olige posted a season best in the 400m hurdles of 51.68 at the OVC Outdoor Championship.
- R’Lazon Brumfield reached 15.50m (50’10.25”) in the triple jump at the OVC Outdoor Championship.

2017 OVC HONORS FOR TSU’S QUALIFIERS
Cyra Beard

- Indoor: OVC High Jump Silver Medalist
- Outdoor: OVC High Jump Silver Medalist

Mikayla Thompson
- Indoor: OVC Shot Put Silver Medalist
- Outdoor: OVC Shot Put Champion

Isaiah Olige
- Indoor: OVC 4x400m Relay Champion, OVC 60m Hurdles Bronze Medalist
- Outdoor: OVC 4x400m Relay Champion, OVC 110m Hurdles Silver Medalist, OVC 400m Hurdles Silver Medalist

R’Lazon Brumfield
- Indoor: OVC Co-Field Athlete of the Year, OVC Freshman of the Year, OVC Long Jump Champion, OVC Triple Jump Champion
- Outdoor: OVC 4x100m Relay Champion, OVC Triple Jump Silver Medalist

#BigBlueRising